Skip to content

We have an outstanding record of placing our graduates in teaching positions and graduate schools across the country. Often our doctoral students are hired even before completing their degrees. If you can add to this list, please contact us.

FSU theory and composition alumni have enrolled in the following doctoral programs:

Bowling Green State University
Catholic University of America
City University of New York, Graduate Center
Columbia University
Indiana University, Jacobs School of Music
The Julliard School
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
University of British Columbia
University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music
University of North Carolina, Greensboro
University of North Texas
University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music
University of Texas at Austin
University of Washington

FSU music theory and composition students and graduates and where they teach

Sara Balduf Adams (MM in Music Theory, 1999; PhD in Musicology, 2008) — Madisonville Community College
Neil Anderson-Himmelspach (DM, 2009) — Texas Christian University
Rob Ash (MM, 2006) —  Pinckney High School (MI)
Sean Atkinson (PhD, 2009) —  Texas Christian University
Scott Baker (PhD, 2003) —  University of Oklahoma
Danny Beard (PhD, 2003) —  University of Southern Mississippi
Robert Bennett (ABD) — University of Oklahoma
Jose Bevia (DM, 2007) —  County College of Morris
Kathleen Biddick Smith (PhD, 2009) —  George Mason University and Northern Virginia Community College
Martin Blessinger (DM, 2006) — Texas Christian University
Michael Broder (DM, 2015) — Lee University 
Kenneth Cardillo (PhD, 2008) — Chattanooga State University
Amy Carr-Richardson (PhD, 1995) — East Carolina University
Philip Chang (MM) — (BA, 1996) University of Colorado at Boulder
Juan Chattah (PhD, 2006) — University of Miami (FL)
Ya-Hui Cheng (PhD, 2008) — University of South Florida
Mark Connor (DM, 2004) — McKendree University
Anthony Cornicello (BM, 1987) — Eastern Connecticut State University
Brett Clement (MM, 2004) — Ball State University
James David (DM, 2006) — Colorado State University
Greg Decker (PhD, 2011) — Bowling Green State University
Dave Easley (PhD, 2011) — Oklahoma City University
Christopher Endrinal (PhD, 2008) — Florida Gulf Coast University
Irina Escalante (DM, 2009) — Georgia Gwinnett College and Shorter University
Gabe Fankhauser (PhD, 1999) — University of North Georgia
Scott Farrah (PhD, 2007) — Tarrant County College
Megan Fogle (PhD, 2009) — Claflin University
Andrew Gades (PhD, 2013) — The College of Idaho
Ryan Garber (DM, 2000) — Carson-Newman College
Sarah Zipperer Gaskins (DM, 2011) — Portland Community College
Jose Garza (PhD, 2017) — Texas State University
Emily Swift Gertsch (PhD, 2013) — University of Georgia
Don Gibson (PhD, 1983) — Florida State University (emeritus)
Doug Gordon (PhD, 1999) — Jacksonville State University (AL)
Shannon Groskreutz (PhD, 2016) — Stetson University
Chelsey Hamm (MM, 2010) — Christopher Newport University
Jennifer McDonald Hermann (MM, 1995) — South Puget Sound Community College
Steve Hopkins (PhD, 1993) — Penn State University
Andrew Houchins (DM, 1996) — Emporia State
Bryn Hughes (PhD, 2011) — University of Lethbridge (Alberta, CA)
Shawn Hundley (DM, 2004) — Bethune-Cookman College
Rusty Jones (BA, 1994) — Butler University
Robert Kelley (PhD, 2005) — Lander University
Megan Lavengood (MM, 2012) — George Mason University
Richard Lee (PhD, 2017) — University of Georgia
Kimberly Loeffert (PhD, 2016) — Oklahoma State University
Mary Jo Lorek (PhD, 1990) — University of Missouri, Kansas City
Marc Magellan (MM, 2009) — Miami-Dade Community College
Sean Malone (ABD) — University of Central Missouri
Scott McAllister (BA BM, 1991) — Baylor University
Greg McCandless (PhD, 2010) — Appalachian State University
James Mathes (PhD, 1986) — Florida State University (retired)
Stephen Mattingly (DM, 2007) — University of Louisville
Jose-Luis Maurtua (DM, 1999) — Central Michigan University
Thomas McCullough (DM, 2004) — University of Central Oklahoma
Jeff Morris (MM, 2000) — Texas A&M University
J. Judith Ofcarcik (PhD, 2013) — Fort Hays State University (KS)
Brad Osborn (MM, 2006) — University of Kansas
Robert Pace (MM, 2013) — Chadron State College
Crystal Peebles (PhD, 2011) — Ithaca College
John Peterson (PhD, 2014) — James Madison University
Stephanie Pieczynski (DM, 2015) — University of Florida  
Robert Raines (DM, 2007) — Full Sail University
Steven Raisor (PhD, 1997) — College of the Albemarle
Stephanie Rea — Murray State University
Mark Richardson (PhD, 1996) — East Carolina University
Scott Robbins (DM, 1993) — Converse College
Scott Roberts (PhD, 2004) — University of Tennessee at Martin
Gillian Robertson (PhD, 2015) —  University of North Texas
Jeremy Robins (PhD, 2017) — Claflin University
Alexander Sanchez-Behar (PhD, 2008) — Texas A&M University at Kingsville
Sarah King Sarver (PhD, 2010) — Oklahoma City University
Andrew Selle (PhD, 2018) — Purdue University – Fort Wayne
Elizabeth Smith (PhD, 2005) — Illinois State University
Jayson Smith (MM, 2013) — Texas Woman’s University
Jennifer Smith (PhD, 2012) — Ohio University
Chris Steele (MM, 2006) — Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
Alan Theisen (PhD, 2010) — Mars Hill College (Indiana University, Bloomington, post doc in 2010-11)
Timothy Thompson (DM, 1996) — Palm Beach Atlantic University
Greg Wanamaker (DM, 1996) — SUNY at Potsdam
Jeff Yunek (MM, 2009) — Kennesaw State University
Richard Zarou (DM, 2008) — Bard Early College (Baltimore, MD)