Skip to content

Denise Von Glahn

Email Address

Phone 850-644-3721

Office LON 309

Denise Von Glahn‘s scholarly interests include music and place, ecomusicology, gender studies, biography, and the works of Charles Ives. She has published two books on music and nature topics, The Sounds of Place: Music and the American Cultural Landscape, which won a 2004 ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award, and Music and the Skillful Listener: American Women Compose the Natural World, which won the 2015 Pauline Alderman book award from the International Alliance for Women in Music. With Michael Broyles she has written a biography of Leo Ornstein, Leo Ornstein: Modernist Dilemmas, Personal Choices, which won the 2009 Irving Lowens Award for distinguished scholarship in American music, and a critical edition of Ornstein’s Quintette for Piano and Strings, Op. 92. Her scholarship has appeared in the Journal of the American Musicological Society (JAMS), the Journal of the Society for American Music (JSAM), and American Music, as well as in numerous other journals and essay collections. Von Glahn co-edits the Music, Nature, Place series at Indiana University Press with Sabine Feisst, and has just completed the biography Libby Larsen: Composing an American Life for The University of Illinois Press, Music in American Life series. Von Glahn has won university awards for both her undergraduate and graduate teaching and is a frequent visiting scholar on campuses in the U.S. and abroad.

View All Faculty and Staff