Gloria Jahoda Music Collection

Collection Overview

  • 16 audio reels
  • 8 volumes of music
  • 2 facsimile letters of Percy Grainger


Gloria Jahoda (1926-1980) was an author of fiction and non-fiction, including literature for young readers, and is best known for her journalistic histories of Floridian folk culture in the 1960s. She moved to Florida in 1963, when her husband accepted a teaching position at Florida State University's School of Library Training and Service. In 1969, Jahoda published a biography, The Road to Samarkand: Frederick Delius and His Music.

The Gloria Jahoda Music Collection includes books, reel-to-reel recordings, and other items concerning Frederick Delius (1862-1934). Piano/vocal scores of Delius' Irmelin and Fennimore and Gerda are also contained in this collection.

Also in the collection are letters from Australian-born composer-pianist Percy Grainger (1882-1961). Grainger was introduced to Edvard Grieg in 1903. The letters are primarily concerned with Grainger's friendship and opinions on Grieg's music.

There is no detailed listing of the Jahoda Music Collection, but materials are available for research by arrangement with our our Special Collections staff at AMLSpec at

Jahoda's personal papers are held by FSU Special Collections & Archives.

title-inside title-centered
Legacy Sort
Legacy Priority