Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Students Prepare for Carnegie Hall

The Florida State University College of Music is proud to announce the upcoming performance of the What Is Noise new music ensemble. Sarah Jane Young (flute), Lisa Kachouee (clarinets), Joshua Burel (violin), Justin Page (cello), Cholong Park (piano), Tommy Dobbs (percussion), and Jamie Wind Whitmarsh (percussion/conductor) will travel to New York for the ensemble’s debut performance at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall. Carefully selected through a stringent audition process, this student ensemble represents the College of Music's student body at its finest. (This performance is part of the University's "Noles in NYC:  Sight, Sound, and Motion" program, an annual showcase of Florida State's rising talents in the fields of theatre, music, dance, and film.)


An Evening of Chamber Music with the FSU College of Music

 Monday, May 5, 2014 at 8 PM | Weill Recital Hall

Tickets for the performance are $10, Students/FSU Alumni $8 and may be purchased by contacting the Carnegie Hall Box Office at 212.247.7800 or


PROGRAM: American Stories
Andy Akiho: to wALk Or ruN in wEst harlem (2008)
Tania León: Tumbao (2005)
Edward Knight: Raven (2004)
Katherine Hoover: Kokopelli, Op. 43 (1990)
David T. Little: descanso (waiting) (2004-2005)
Joshua Burel: Roanoke (2013)
Ellen Taaffe Zwilich: Divertimento (1983)
Jennifer Higdon: Zaka (2003)

““American Stories” is intended to shed light on the human condition and highlight the joys and challenges all people share,” says ensemble member Lisa Kachouee. “The award-winning composers featured in this innovative program are all native or naturalized Americans who draw inspiration from stories, folk lore, history, and emotion,” she continues. “Andy Akiho’s to wALk Or ruN in wEst harlem is inspired by the sounds and experience of a particularly late night walk home in New York; Edward Knight's Raven depicts the Native American story of how the sun came into existence.


Engaging and uniting diverse audiences with vibrant, emotive performances, What Is Noise seeks to dispel the myth that new music exists only for the culturally elite through inspired programs and educational outreach. Programming the works of the two composers within the ensemble as well as the works of other contemporary composers, the ensemble reinforces the notion that new music is created by and for the impact of the community and society as a whole. What Is Noise performs works which utilize all members of the ensemble as well as subset pieces—bringing fresh sounds and a variety of timbres to the listener experience.

For individual member profiles, audio and images, please visit the What Is Noise website at